Trade Associations, Shows & Conferences

NFRA Installs BI-LO’s David Welch as New Board Chairman

LinkedIn Pinterest Tumblr

The Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA-headquartered National Frozen & Refrigerated Foods Association (NFRA) elected officers and directors during its annual convention held in Orlando, Florida. They were installed at the organization’s 70th annual membership luncheon on October 13.

Welch David 150David Welch, NFRA’s new chairman of the board, has 47 years of food retailing experience.The new chairman of the board is David Welch, director of business support for Jacksonville, Florida-headquartered BI-LO Holdings, LLC. The company is ranked as the fifth-largest conventional supermarket chain in the United States and the second-largest conventional supermarket operator in the nation’s southeast based on store count.

Having been on the board of directors since 2008, he has also served as vice chairman-refrigerated from 2011-12, and secretary from 2012-13. Prior to his current role with BI-LO Holdings, Welch was the director of dairy and frozen foods for five years. He has held other various positions in a career with Winn-Dixie and BI-LO Holdings that has spanned 47 years, starting in Winn-Dixie retail stores.

Other officers sworn in at the annual meeting were: Scott Rouse of Tyson Foods, Inc., chairman-elect; Joy Sgro of Bozzuto’s, Inc., secretary; Ray Tarnowski of Philadelphia Warehouse & Cold Storage, treasurer; Dave Jones of Kellogg Company, vice chairman-frozen; and John Farmer of Global Dairy Products Group, vice chairman-refrigerated.

Newly elected as board members were: Scott Anderson of Alliance Sales & Marketing; Tony Hatok of Giant Eagle; Ari Labell of Unilever; Joe McQuesten of SpartanNash; Mark Meyer of Wells’ Enterprises, Inc.; Neil Ritchey of Windsor Foods; Chris Scheid of Land O’Lakes Foods, Inc.; Ken Stubbs of Florida’s Natural Growers; Dave Susla of Schwans Consumer Brands, Inc.; and Jimmy Taylor of ConAgra Foods.

Elected for a second term on the board of directors were: Dave Cichocki of Kraft Cheese & Dairy Division; Brigid Gilmore of Nestle USA; William Mayo of Wakefern Food Corporation; Kevin Schwab of Pictsweet Company; and Ron Schwenn, Roundys, Inc.

NFRA is a non-profit trade association representing all segments of the frozen and refrigerated foods industry. It is the sponsor of March Frozen Food Month, June Dairy Month, the June/July Ice Cream & Novelties promotion and the October Cool Food for Kids educational outreach initiative.