Warehousing & Logistics

Eben James Wins IARW Chairmanship at Vegas Convention

LinkedIn Pinterest Tumblr

Eben James, president and chief executive officer of Trenton Cold Storage, Trenton, Ontario, Canada, was elected as the 2016-2017 chairman of the board of directors of the International Association of Refrigerated Warehouses (IARW) during the trade group’s 125th annual convention held recently in Las Vegas, Nevada.

The new chairman plans to focus on expanding the reach of the organization and building awareness for IARW members as not just third-party logistics providers, but as leading experts in the cold chain.

Eben JamesNewly elected IARW Chairman Eben James aims to broaden the trade association’s reach and relevance as a leading “go to” cold chain resource.“At the end of the day, we want to make our members so relevant, so knowledgeable, so credible and so financially effective to the supply chain that a retailer or other customer will look to our industry first, instead of ever considering execution themselves,” James said. “And we want to accomplish this around the globe.”

Other new IARW officers tapped for service in the coming year include: Vice Chairman David O’Brien of Doboy Cold Stores, Hemmant, Queensland, Australia, and Treasurer Doug Harrison of VersaCold Logistics Services, Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada.

New directors-at-large elected to serve three-year terms on the IARW board are: Mauricio Barrera of Basal Almacenamiento y Logistica, Apodaca, Nuevo Leon, Mexico; Jason Dreisbach of Dreisbach Enterprises, Inc., Oakland, California, USA; Manuel Kabana of Frio Puerto Valencia, Valencia, Spain; Clement Lam of Swire Pacific Cold Storage, Shanghai, China; and Kevin Margeson of Commercial Warehousing, Inc., Winter Haven, Florida, USA.

Named as new IARW North American Chapter representatives were Jason Lafferty of SnoTemp Cold Storage, Eugene, Oregon, USA, and Anthony Leo of RLS Logistics, Newfield, New Jersey, USA.